About IELTS Exam

celectedu classroom

What is the IELTS®?

Here are All the information about IELTS Exam. As per the official site, The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) Exam measures the language proficiency of people who want to study or work where English is used as a language of communication. It uses a nine-band scale to clearly identify levels of proficiency, from non-user (band score 1) through to expert (band score 9). IELTS is accepted by various Universities in Australia, the UK, New Zealand, and Canada. It has become mandatory in Australia.

IELTS is offered in two types:

  1. Academic is for students applying for higher education or professional registration
  2. General Training is for students migrating to Australia, Canada, and the UK, or applying for secondary education, training programs, and work experience.

Language skills: listening, reading, writing and speaking are efficiently assessed in both of the tests.

The structure of the IELTS Exam is as given below:

  1. Reading (60 minutes) (Scoring scale: 0-9 bands): The reading section has 3 passages and 40 questions. Each question is worth one mark.
  2. Writing (60 minutes) (Scoring scale: 0-9 bands): Writing section includes 2 tasks (Writing Task 1 and Writing Task 2) and candidates must answer BOTH tasks.
  3. Listening (40 minutes) (Scoring scale: 0-9 bands): Listening section has four sections, each with 10 questions. Each item is worth one mark.
  4. Speaking (11-14 minutes) (Scoring scale: 0-9 bands): Speaking test is a face-to-face interaction test between the candidate and an examiner.

What is the scoring scale for the IELTS Exam™?

  • Scoring for IELTS Exam is in between 0 (Minimum) and 9 (Maximum) that has 0.5 band increment. Four scores are reported on the IELTS™:
  • Reading, Listening, Writing, Speaking score reported on a 0-9 band scale, with 0.5 band increment.